Silkscreen-printing at home / Zuhause siebdrucken

After that workshop I was partly enthusiastic about silkscreen-printing, partly taken aback: for me it is really the ideal way of producing truly unique fabrics and sew things that no-one else has to offer, and – it’s fun! I don’t usually take part in the endless discussions about copyright and who did what first, I think in many cases a bag is a bag is a bag and the chances are big that you unwillingly do something somebody else does at the same time just by combining the fabrics everybody likes at the moment. And this makes it difficult at times to have a signature style within the mainstream (sort of). Most of the time I try to, but I also found out that at least one other seller on DaWanda has a very similar way of combining things. That was one reason why I thought of personalizing some of my products and silkscreen-printing seemed to be a fairly easy way to do so. The other is that simply putting together other peoples designs is sometimes a bit boring. But: the workshop was by a professional with professional equipment and she made us (well, me at least) think that this was the only proper way to do silkscreen-printing. No surprise it seemed that you have to invest lots, I mean really lots of money and even more workspace just to get going. It was intimidating. As for the workspace I thought of the garage we rent two streets away, but there’s no running water, then I searched ebay for screenprinting-tools and screens but the prices are incredible, you can just as well buy everything new. I could really well relate to Alex’ post about her reasons to start printing and her problems how to go about it. But then I ordered these two books printing by hand and lotta prints and came across this site: printcutsew and: the american approach of ‘yes, we can!’ was just what I needed: here at patchworkshop I ordered a starter kit by speedball and started. See, I can! And a 9 1/2 year-old, too!

SSL24384

And this is how the screen changed colour printing run after run:

SSL24390SSL24394

Almost a work of art in its own right, I think.

Nach dem Workshop war ich teils begeistert, teils abgeschreckt: es ist für mich eine ideale Art, wirklich einzigartige Stoffe und Produkte herzustellen und es macht Spaß! Ich nehme üblicherweise nicht an der endlosen Diskussion über Copyright und wer-was-zuerst-gemacht-hat teil, in den meisten Fällen ist eine Tasche ist eine Tasche ist eine Tasche und es kann durchaus passieren, dass man unbewusst zur gleichen Zeit dasselbe macht wie ein anderer, einfach dadurch, dass man die gleichen Stoffe miteinander kombiniert, die alle gerade toll finden. Das macht es auch so schwierig, einen eigenen Stil zu haben, der gleichzeitig Trend-kompatibel ist. Ich versuche es zwar meist, aber auch ich habe schon mindestens eine DaWanda-Verkäuferin gesehen, die in ähnlicher Weise näht. Das war der eine Grund, es mit Siebdruck zu versuchen, der andere ist, das es schlicht mitunter etwas langweilig ist, nur anderer Leute Design zu verarbeiten. Aber: der Workshop wurde von einer professionellen Siebdruckerin mit professioneller Ausstattung durchgeführt und sie ließ uns (zumindest mich) in dem Glauben, dass man nur so richtig Drucken kann. Es schien, als ob man richtig viel Geld und auch viel Platz dafür investieren müsse um loslegen zu können. Einschüchternd! Als Werkstatt dachte ich zunächst an die Garage, die wir zwei Straßen weiter angemietet haben, aber da gibt’s kein fließend Wasser. Dann war ich auf ebay auf der Suche nach der Ausrüstung und Sieben, aber die Preise sind auch dort unglaublich, man kann fast genauso gut neu kaufen. Ich konnte Alex’ post sehr gut verstehen, ihre Überlegungen und Probleme. Aber dann habe ich diese beiden Bücher bestellt: printing by hand und lotta prints und ich habe diese Seite gefunden:  printcutsew und –  der amerikanische Ansatz ‘yes, we can!’ war genau was ich brauchte. Bei patchworkshop bestellte ich ein starter kit von speedball und fing an. Seht, ich kann! Und ein 9 1/2 jähriger auch!

0 Responses to “Silkscreen-printing at home / Zuhause siebdrucken”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

